top of page
  • Travel T

Getting ready-The Basics

As mentioned, whatever you'd like to do or go in your future travels, whether by plane, train or automobile, here are some basics for anything you decide.

1. Start your plan/research the options;

2. Determine your budget;

3. What can fit within the budget...by car, by plane, by train. What does each cost to get there.

4. If by plane, research different flights from different fares from different airlines and airports within a reasonable distance from your home.

5. How can you cut back on costs? Is it possible to plan it out and find ways to save on travel, such as credit cards providing points you can gain from purchases?

This is not an endorsement of credit card use. I'd only recommend opening a credit card if you already have strong credit and you know you can pay off all charges prior to getting hit with interest. No other reasons could be given for opening credit cards, in my view. This should only be done if you are making the purchases anyway, every day purchases to sustain your life, such as food, clothing, etc., but not any more than you would normally purchase. Then, just make sure you can pay off the credit card prior to accumulating any interest charges. My husband and I use Chase AND we each have the Southwest credit card, plus have one for each of our daughters. Doing this has allowed us to travel for free on some flights and to obtain a special buy one/get one flight deals.

6. Whatever you decide, make sure not to take any more clothes/shoes/essentials than what is needed. Overpacking is the most common mistake made and, yes, I've made that mistake many times. I've often packed more and had clothes hanging in my closet all week for no reason. On occasion, I've done the opposite, as well. If you have a washer/dryer available, try to pack more lightly than normal. When on a cruise, you can pack with clothes made of material that can be washed in your sink and dried out in your cabin. I feel like they make clothes just for this purpose now!


More packing tips to follow in my next blog. I hope you've gotten some tips of how you can get started. Next blog, I'll give you some tips of where to find great deals on-line and more packing tips, as well. Happy researching and planning and be sure to tune in again soon!





3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page